1985 by Kiler Davenport

Back a few years ago in 1985 I was one of those invincible, know it all idiots that thought he could drink and drive. Only a few blocks left to my house. Creeping along as quiet as a mouse. As if out of nowhere in my rear mirror who do I see. Not one but two lit x-mas trees on top of the cars of the DPD. With sirens blaring and lights flashing. I wondered what in the heck do they want with me. After a short little chase of ten blocks or so I finally pulled over thinking they’d let me go. After all I was a paramedic. One of their own. I begged them to have a heart and let me go home. My whole career was on the line.

Nowhere to run and nowhere to hide. I pleaded with them to let me go just this one time. They told me they were just doing their job. I knew at that moment it was the end of the line. That one moment in time changed the rest of the life. All I could do was think of my family just three blocks away.

All the way downtown in shackles and chains. All I could do was hang my head in shame. From that moment on I knew my life would never be the same. But you know what. It is funny how things turn out. Nowadays I never, never, never drink and drive when I go out.

One night of dancing, pleasure, heavy drinking and elation is not worth trading for jail and probation. So next time you hop behind the wheel all liquored up. Just look real hard in that rear view mirror and remember who might show up.

Leave a Reply

